Skip to main content
site header image

NBMS Media Center: Biotech Debate

Making smart choices about technology

Web Links

ProCon.org

Stem Cells

Stem Cell Quick Reference:

http://learn.genetics.utah.edu/content/tech/stemcells/quickref/

Definition, uses, controversies:

http://healthguide.howstuffworks.com/stem-cell-research-dictionary.htm

The Stem Cell Debate: Is it Over?

http://learn.genetics.utah.edu/content/tech/stemcells/scissues/

More extensive information and links:

http://science.howstuffworks.com/environmental/life/cellular-microscopic/stem-cell6.htm 

Stem Cell Research Ethics:

http://www.biotechnologyonline.gov.au/human/ethicssc.html

Cloning

Basic Article:  What is Cloning?

http://www.pitara.com/discover/5wh/online.asp?story=165

How Cloning Works:

http://science.howstuffworks.com/environmental/life/genetic/cloning.htm/printable

Human Cloning, Including Ethics Discussion:

http://science.howstuffworks.com/environmental/life/genetic/human-cloning.htm

What is Cloning?  One-page article; includes video:

http://learn.genetics.utah.edu/

http://learn.genetics.utah.edu/content/cloning/whatiscloning/

Links to Cloning information, including pros, cons, risks, reasons for cloning, and ethical issues:

http://learn.genetics.utah.edu/content/tech/cloning/

Longer article with lots of good info:

http://www.genome.gov/25020028

Genetic Testing

Basic Intro:  What is Genetic Testing:  http://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/handbook/testing/genetictesting

One-page article, What is Genetic Testing?” includes some ethical considerations:

http://www.lbl.gov/Education/ELSI/genetic-testing.html

Genetic Testing: What You Should Know; includes some pros/cons:

http://familydoctor.org/familydoctor/en/prevention-wellness/staying-healthy/healthy-living/genetic-testing-what-you-should-know.printerview.all.html

Pros, cons, lots of links:

http://www.ornl.gov/sci/techresources/Human_Genome/medicine/genetest.shtml

Ethics of Genetic Testing: Medical Insurance and Genetic Discrimination

For disorders that are preventable or treatable, most people agree that genetic testing makes sense. But for diseases with no preventative measures, would you want to know if you were affected?

http://www.nature.com/scitable/topicpage/ethics-of-genetic-testing-medical-insurance-and-651

When What We Know Outstrips What We Can Do

Our genes contain information that scientists hope will help in the treatment of many diseases. Huntington's disease provides a window on the choices we face as medicine increases our ability to intervene in human genetics.

http://www.scu.edu/ethics/publications/iie/v9n2/outstrips.html

NPR story; includes a listening link:

http://www.npr.org/2011/01/13/132908943/The-Ethics-Of-Genetic-Screening-For-Parents

Extensive list of Genetic Testing FAQs:

http://www.genome.gov/19516567

Genetically-Modified (GM) foods

What are GMOs?  Good overview.

http://biotech.about.com/od/faq/f/GMOs.htm

Good summary :

http://learn.genetics.utah.edu/archive/gmfoods/

Pros/Cons (graphic):
http://carrington.edu/blog/student-tips/health/genetically-modified-food-pros-and-cons/

How can GM foods be used to combat hunger?

http://www.nuffieldbioethics.org/gm-crops-developing-countries/gm-crops-developing-countries-poverty-and-hunger

Pros:  using GM to make medicines:

http://learn.genetics.utah.edu/archive/pharming/index.html

Summary of GM foods controversies: gives both sides of argument; LONG article:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Genetically_modified_food_controversies

The Debate Over Genetically Modified Foods; article is pretty long; includes risks and benefits:

http://www.actionbioscience.org/biotech/sakko.html

Pro Articles:

Bioethical council in favour of GM crops

http://www.foodnavigator.com/Science-Nutrition/Bioethical-council-in-favour-of-GM-crops

Problems of GM foods:

http://www.organicitsworthit.org/quick/gmos-101?gclid=COL4rb7M-60CFSEQNAodkWTmOw

GM Foods: Harmful or Helpful? Long article.

http://www.csa.com/discoveryguides/gmfood/overview.php

Biotech Handouts

Database Resources for Biotech

Find passwords on Edline in upper right hand column. 

Science Reference Center

Encyclopedia

Student Resource Junior

Sirs Discoverer