Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NBMS Media Center: Research Resources

Making smart choices about technology

Online Resources

Media Center - Online Database Research Resources

The North Bethesda Middle School Media Center has a wonderful collection of online resources for the students, staff, and community.

*Click on this Google document for the link to all MCPS online resources with usernames and passwords (you will need your MCPS Google login to access)

All of these resources are available on every computer. They are also available to MCPS families at home on computers or devices with internet access.    Please see Mrs. Woods if you have questions regarding the use of the Online Resources. Passwords are available in the NBMS Virtual Media Center in myMCPS classroom.

Name of Database What is it good for?

Annals of American History

American history research with primary sources.

BrainPop Videos, Games, Quizzes - All subjects

CultureGrams

Database of country reports, maps, photos, famous people, and recipes.

Discovery Education

Discovery Education/Google

Good for videos
Gale General One File Articles from magazines, books, newspapers, and academic journals on over 500 topics.
Gale in Context Middle School Reference information in videos, newspapers, magazines, and primary sources - cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature.
MANGO language learning Language learning program containing over 30 world languages.

Enciclopedia Universal en Espanol

Britannica’s Spanish language encyclopedia

Encyclopaedia Britannica

Four encyclopedias plus an Internet guide, atlas, and videos. Includes study guides and exercises

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Academic Edition

Although every student has access to this encyclopaedia, it is recommended for high school and higher education.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Global Reference Center

Japanese, Korean, Chinese, French Britannica encyclopaedias and another link to the Spanish Reference Center.

Britannica Online Japan

Comprehensive Japanese encyclopedia. 150,00 articles and 30,000 images

Factcite Online biographies
Image Quest Need pictures for your project.  Go here.
Library of Congress  Free database for researching American History (primary resources)

Noodletools

Citation/Bibliography resource.  You have your own log in through Google. 

Scienceflix Experiments, leveled articles, and videos on all subjects related to science content.
SIRS Issues Researcher

Current events, U.S. government resources, arts and humanities, and relevant Internet links. SIRS Decades is a new history resource. Use it.

SIRS Discoverer

TeachingBooks.net

Author and book information.

Teen Health & Wellness Articles and videos about teen health and wellness as well as self-help information

Webster’s New International Dictionary

Words, words, and more words. (And their definitions, usage, and pronunciation.)