Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NBMS Media Center: Historical Settings

Making smart choices about technology

Weblinks

All above photographs are from the Library of Congress collections.  Look for your historical site there http://www.loc.gov/ .

Rockville Railroad Station

Maryland Historical Trust
http://mht.maryland.gov/nr/NRDetail.aspx?HDID=231&COUNTY=Montgomery&FROM=NRCountyList.aspx?COUNTY=Montgomery

Maryland State Archives
http://msa.maryland.gov/megafile/msa/stagsere/se1/se5/017000/017600/017665/pdf/msa_se5_17665.pdf

Maryland National Park and Planning Commission - Montgomery Planning.org
http://www.montgomeryplanning.org/historic/places_from_the_past/documents/p322_335.pdf

University of Baltimore Archives
http://archives.ubalt.edu/gbc/pdf/12-13-5.pdf

Bethesda Theater

Maryland Historical Trust
http://mht.maryland.gov/nr/NRDetail.aspx?HDID=1216&COUNTY=Montgomery&FROM=NRCountyList.aspx?COUNTY=Montgomery

Washington Post
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/06/16/AR2010061605100.html

Maryland State Archives
http://msa.maryland.gov/megafile/msa/stagsere/se1/se5/018000/018000/018021/pdf/msa_se5_18021.pdf

Art Deco Society of Washington
http://www.adsw.org/buildings/bethesda-jazz-and-supper-club#ad-image-0

 

Old Stone House

National Park Service
http://www.nps.gov/nr/travel/wash/dc17.htm

http://www.nps.gov/olst/historyculture/upload/Old-Stone-House-Brochure.pdf

http://www.nps.gov/olst/historyculture/index.htm

Streets of Washington Stories and Images of Historic Washington, D.C.
http://www.streetsofwashington.com/2010/02/georgetowns-old-stone-house-washington.html

Tours of DC
http://tourofdc.org/tours/OldStoneHouse/

Glen Echo

A Summer of Change: The Civil Rights Story of Glen Echo Park

 https://www.nps.gov/glec/learn/historyculture/upload/Civil-Rights-Site-Bulletin.pdf

 

Maryland Historical Trust

http://mht.maryland.gov/nr/NRDetail.aspx?HDID=808&COUNTY=Montgomery&FROM=NRCountyList.aspx?COUNTY=Montgomery

Glen Echo Park Partnership for Arts and Culture, Inc.
http://www.glenechopark.org/history-glen-echo-park

Glen Echo – Cabin John Area History - Research from an individual local history expert
http://glenecho-cabinjohn.com/GE-03.html

http://glenecho-cabinjohn.com/GE-04.html

National Park Service
http://www.nps.gov/glec/historyculture/upload/Then%20and%20Now-3.pdf

C & O Canal

National Park Service

http://www.nps.gov/nr/travel/wash/dc6.htm

http://www.nps.gov/choh/historyculture/index.htm

http://www.nps.gov/nr/twhp/wwwlps/lessons/10cando/10cando.htm

Western Maryland Historical Library
http://www.whilbr.org/itemdetail.aspx?idEntry=6016

Clara Barton Missing Soldiers Office

Museum

http://www.clarabartonmuseum.org

Washington

https://washington.org/find-dc-listings/clara-barton-missing-soldiers-office-museum

 

Washington Post
http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/house-divided/post/clara-bartons-civil-war-office-to-become-a-museum/2012/04/12/gIQA5SR1DT_blog.html

U.S. General Services Administration
http://www.gsa.gov/portal/content/104263

https://gsablogs.gsa.gov/gsablog/2016/05/11/clara-barton-missing-soldiers-office-new-life-for-150-year-old-office-space/​

Washingtonian Magazine

https://www.washingtonian.com/2015/11/13/how-clara-bartons-missing-soldiers-office-got-found/

Octagon House

National Park Service
http://www.nps.gov/nr/travel/wash/dc22.htm

Architect's Foundation

https://architectsfoundation.org/octagon-museum/history/

Boundary Stones - WETA's Local History Blog
http://blogs.weta.org/boundarystones/2014/07/16/octagon-houses-tales-grave

George Washington Libraries: Exhibits

http://exhibits.library.gwu.edu/exhibits/show/digitaldc/foggy-bottom/octagon-building

Charles Sumner School

National Park Service
http://www.nps.gov/nr/travel/wash/dc58.htm

Washington Post Article

http://wpo.st/ejiI2

 

Cultural Tourist DC

 https://www.culturaltourismdc.org/portal/charles-sumner-school-museum-and-archives-african-american-heritage-trail

 

 

Mary Church Terrell House

 National Park Service
http://www.nps.gov/nr/travel/wash/dc66.htm

TLC
http://historicsites.dcpreservation.org/items/show/591

Social Welfare History Project
http://www.socialwelfarehistory.com/people/terrell-mary-church/

Washington Post
http://www.washingtonpost.com/local/once-home-to-civil-rights-pioneer-historic-house-is-now-worst-on-the-block-in-ledroit/2014/02/15/83c031ea-8aad-11e3-916e-e01534b1e132_story.html

Library of Congress

http://loc.gov/pictures/item/dc0267/

http://www.loc.gov/rr/program/bib/terrell/

 

 

 

 

Database Resources for Historical Settings

Find passwords on Edline in upper right hand column. 

Encyclopedia

Student Resource Junior

Sirs Discoverer